Sports@MES - Karjat Marathon

Related Links

Sports@MES Home



Sports Academies, Clubs & Promotional Schemes

Contact Us


Champions Photo Gallery

Our Champions

Over All Sports Championship

Sports Report


Snaps from Sporting 2012-13


News and Events

Latest News and Events


Student Achievements


Events Calendar

Karjat Marathon

MES >> Sports@MES >> Karjat Marathon

Related Link: Events

The First ever Karjat Marathon draws big crowd

The first ever Marathon held at the tourist town of Karjat draws overwhelming response, as thousands participated and another thousand of people witnessed the event (7th January, 2018) today morning at Karjat. This marathon is organized by Mahatma Education Society's Pillai HOC Educational Campus on their series of Rural Marathons conducted at various rural areas of Raigad district. The aim of these marathons is to emphasise importance of sports and fitness and also to allow the rural India gets to know what is the Marathons are all about. The slogan of the Marathon is "Come on; Let us run together". This marathon also remarkable as a large number of physically disabled personnel also took part in the event. Mr. Janardhan Panmandh stood first in the 5 km race for above 45 yrs special category and the huge crowd cheered this uniped throughout the race as he compete on an arm crunch stick.

The Marathon Flagged-off by Karajat Municipal Council Chairperson Mrs. Rajani Gaikwad in the presence prominent sports personalities. The Deputy CEO, Pillai HOC Educational Campus Mrs. Dr. Lata Kasture Menon gave away the trophies and cash prizes to the Winners. Thousands assembled at Krushi utpan samiti bazaar ground since morning 5 a.m. with enthusiasm.

Throughout the route a large number of people lined up to cheer the Karajat's first Marathon race. The Mini-thon conducted in 08 categories of 6 km, 9 km and 14 km.

The response from the people as a whole is "tremendous and encouraging and we are happy to give an on hand experience of marathons to rural India" - Padmakshan Padmanahan Director of Sports, Pillai Group of Institutions.

The prize winners are as follows:-
Under 17 years Boys Under 17 years Girls
Sandeep Pal Sanu Katkare
Devendar Sambari Durga Lobi
Pawan Nakate Sakshi Sonunde
Under 19 years Boys Under 19 years Girls
Hitesh Divakar Puja Nirgude
Kalpesh Kambadi Aarti Mune
Vishal Kadali Kalyani Pawar
Above 19 years & Open Men Above 19 years & Open Women
Ramu Pardi Rutuja Sakpal
Harshad Tivalekar Savita Patil
Sandeep Kande Hasmita Patil
Above 45 years Men Above 45 years Women
Kesav Mote Sushama Patil
Chandra Patil Rajni Kishan Ghavat
Kishan Ghavat Sajan Bhosale

back to Events